TURI » News » TURA Program News » Environmental officials announce...  

Environmental officials announce new toxic chemical rules

The Toxics Use Reduction Administrative Council, the six-member governing body of the Toxic Use Reduction program overseen by EEA, and chaired by Secretary Sullivan, designated both hexavalent chromium compounds and formaldehyde as Higher Hazard Substances and added 16 chemicals to the Toxic Use Reduction Act (TURA) list of toxic or hazardous chemicals. The designations require additional companies to report on the use of these chemicals and evaluate whether there are cost-effective ways to reduce that use.