TURI » Our Work » Business » Tools and Resou... » Other Topics » Design for Envi... » DfE Strategies » Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)  

Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)

LCA involves a set of environmental assessment tools. The internationally agreed standard for LCA has been developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and this is documented in four environmental management system standards (the ISO 14000 series).

The methodology is generally broken up into four stages:

  • Definition of the goal and scope
  • Life-cycle inventory analysis
  • Life-cycle impact assessment
  • Life-cycle interpretation