TURI » Our Work » Chemicals Policy » Decision-Making... » Councils and Co... » TURA Science Advisory Board  

TURA Science Advisory Board

Bringing Science and Policy Together

The Toxics Use Reduction Act of 1989 created a Science Advisory Board (SAB) to work with the Institute as described in Chapter 211, Section 6, line 496.


The Board's primary role is to consider petitions to add or delete chemicals from the TURA chemical list and make recommendations to the Institute accordingly. 

The Institute may call on the SAB for scientific or technical advice concerning other TURA-related issues.

To be nominated to the SAB, an individual must have extensive professional experience and/or academic expertise in fields such as toxicology, epidemiology, occupational medicine, environmental science or chemistry.

Current Members

David Williams (Chair)  
Lawrence Boise (Vice-Chair)  
Hilary Hackbart  
Robin Dodson  
Igor Linkov  
Kenneth Weinberg  
Amy Cannon  
Christine Rioux  
Current Considerations

For the Fall of 2013, the SAB is evaluating 1-bromopropane (nPB) as a potential higher hazard substance, phthalate esters as a potential policy change, volatile methyl siloxanes as a potential listing and ethyl acetate as a potential lower hazard substance.