TURI » Our Work » Policy » Toxics Use Redu... » Councils and Co... » TURA Science Advisory Board  

TURA Science Advisory Board

This video "What are Engineered Nanomaterials: Uses and Hazards" was presented at the May 20th SAB meeting. Mike Ellenbecker, Professor Emeritus and Co-Director of the Toxics Use Reduction Institute, is an expert on industrial hygiene and exposure to nanoparticles.

The SAB Reviews Scientific Data on Chemicals

The Toxics Use Reduction Act of 1989 created a Science Advisory Board (SAB) to work with the Institute as described in Chapter 211, Section 6, line 496.

The Board's primary role is to consider petitions to add or delete chemicals from the TURA chemical list and make recommendations to the Institute accordingly. 

The Institute may call on the SAB for scientific or technical advice concerning other TURA-related issues.

SAB Members have extensive professional experience and/or academic expertise in fields such as toxicology, epidemiology, occupational medicine, environmental science or chemistry.

Meet the current SAB members.